top of page

WAITING ON HIS WILL

WAITING ON HIS WILL

When I was little, my friends across the street were having a lemonade sale. And they also had cookies and ice cream sandwiches... I wanted an ice cream sandwich. So I asked my mom and she of course said no. I was broke, being 7, but I still wanted one. $1.50? My mom wouldn’t miss it right? Well I was wrong. I ended up not getting to finish it and I got in trouble. My brother got it instead. Sometimes we don’t listen to God. And instead of obeying him, we depend on the world to give us what we want. We substitute our true calling with this fabricated thing and end up getting ripped off. Because the world can’t give you your eternity. When you disobey God you are robbing yourself of your calling and instead you are left with something only temporary. Soon you are left with nothing. Instead of witnessing you decided to join in. Instead of singing at church you decided to sing at school with your friends that talk down on you for your faith. When we don’t wait on God’s will, it isn’t worth it. Functions outside of church can be fun, but why even show up to church if you act the same as people who don’t even believe in God? Parties end. Drinks become empty. Money runs out once you spend it all on stuff that doesn’t glorify God. But let me tell you what doesn’t run out. God’s love. His grace. His mercy. His eternal promise. If you dedicate your life to him, you will never get ripped off. You will get more than you bargained for. Sometimes in our life we become broken and seem to feel that because we are feeling this way, God won’t ever use us. We feel as if that’s why we have to wait so long to be on the other end of that calling. But if you only knew what sweet joy you were waiting on. Just like my mom forgave me after I took that money out of her wallet, God forgives us for robbing him of praise. For robbing him of the worship he deserves. “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” ‭‭John‬ ‭15:5‬ ‭KJV‬‬ This verse is basically saying that God is the head and we are his children/disciples. If we break off of the head, we are simply just a branch. We are not a beautiful tree, we are a branch. When you don’t wait for fruit to grow the fruit is small and not ripe enough so you can’t even eat it. Wait in his time and grow. Grow strong and seasoned in his word. That will sustain you for ages. And ultimately eternity. Wait on his will always. 

bottom of page